Yes, I live for him

Strength is what I need
I ignore that which is me
Instead I pour all that I have into him
Yes, I live for him

When the miracle was at my door
I knew, for the very first time, that which is my duty
It is expected and nothing else matters
Yes, I live for him

The unexpected did arrive and faced him
In fear I watched in dismay
Soon I gave my strength so that he could endure
Yes, I live for him

How is it that in his path this mountain appears steadfast
The struggle begins and we reach its crest
Only to see a ruptured chasm on the other side
Yes, I live for him

Together we overcome the mountain
Only to meet another suffocating one beyond
For him I must breathe and push us onward
Yes, I live for him

Facing once again the next precipice
I search to find a place to rest
I guard as he gains his strength
Yes, I live for him

I am nothing without this purpose
I have put myself aside
His life is what should be
Yes, I live for him

How can one so young face these afflictions
For him to stand alone will not be done
Our strength together will fight that which attacks
Yes, I live for him

A day will come when we can rest
Defeat will never be his fate
Chosen is what they foretold
Yes, I live for him

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

