Taking A Stand Against Them

I feel like I must look always to my back
They are watching, yes all of them are waiting
This obvious wisdom I do not lack

To no one, they admit this, or are stating
Instead carefully placed are their diversions
But I ignore, I hear and see the baiting

Precise in their talk intent on dispersion
Important to not believe the nonsense heard
Hold tight against it, intent on aversion

Take control and then draw your own conclusions
Let them watch,  beware as you proudly stand firm
For you, let not their words be an intrusion

Let not their dark thoughts infect you as a germ
The self has the truth and you can reaffirm

 

Terza Rima Sonnet.  This form of poem has an eleven syllable count in each line and a rhyming scheme of aba, bcb, cdc, ded, ee.  It can have an indefinite length, but is always made up of three-line stanzas or tercets.  the sonnet ends with a couplet. The rhyme scheme is such that line 2 of each stanza rhymes with lines 1 and 3 of the following stanza, creating an interlocking pattern. In the final stanza, both lines rhyme with line 2 of the preceding tercet.
The Italian poet Dante is credited with inventing terza rima and it has been used by many English poets including Geoffrey Chaucer, John Milton, Percy Bysshe Shelley and Auden. Famous examples include Ode to the West Wind by Percy Bysshe Shelley (1795-1825).
Acquainted With the Night
by Robert Frost
I have been one acquainted with the night.
I have walked out in rain—and back in rain.
I have outwalked the furthest city light.
I have looked down the saddest city lane.
I have passed by the watchman on his beat
And dropped my eyes, unwilling to explain.
I have stood still and stopped the sound of feet
When far away an interrupted cry
Came over houses from another street
But not to call me back or say good-bye;
And further still at an unearthly height
One luminary clock against the sky
Proclaimed the time was neither wrong nor right.
I have been one acquainted with the night.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

