Not Able To Go On

The weight of it overcomes me
No, this is not how it should be
Day after day, year after year
Not able to go on, I fear

Heavy on my shoulders it weighs
And everywhere I go it stays
Day after day, year after year
Not able to go on, I fear

It is I who must conquer it
But once again caught in the pit
Day after day, year after year
Not able to go on, I fear

The weight of it overcomes me
Not able to go on, I fear

A Kyrielle Sonnet consists of 14 lines (three rhyming quatrain stanzas and a non-rhyming couplet).  It was once a very popular French form dating from the middle ages. Just like the traditional Kyrielle poem, the Kyrielle Sonnet also has a repeating line or phrase as a refrain (usually appearing as the last line of each stanza). Each line within the Kyrielle Sonnet consists of only eight syllables. French poetry forms have a tendency to link back to the beginning of the poem, so common practice is to use the first and last line of the first quatrain as the ending couplet. This would also re-enforce the refrain within the poem. Therefore, a good rhyming scheme for a Kyrielle Sonnet would be: AabB, ccbB, ddbB, AB -or- AbaB, cbcB, dbdB, AB.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

