The Pain In My Head

Out of control it pounds in my sore head
Going over that omen which I dread

No moments of respite, as usual
Instead, the agony of reprisal

The reverbration rings in my two ears
Insistently, as if  gone on for years

Tipping my head one way or another
Refrains the pains one after the other

I ask, what does it take to make it cease
I only ask for one moment of peace

Not knowing how much more I can this take
Let it be over for  sanity’s sake

And while awake there is  no relief
Pounding my head like the waves on a reef

What does it take to bring it to the end
Truly, out of my head for this to send

Perhaps the remedy is to get sleep
Awake I remain, the pain has gone deep
 
Will it hover over me at death’s door
This burden to carry I want no more

There’s no relief from this chasm of pain
Leaving all my efforts useless in vain

To the gods, “Let it be over I say
It has now become more than I can bare”

I look to the pain with irreverent eyes
If this is life, then it I do despise.

 

Rhyming Couplets:  A rhyming couplet is simply two successive lines the last words of which rhyme. 
According to J.A.Cuddon’s Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory, “The couplet is one of the main verse units in Western literature and is a form of great antiquity. Chaucer was one of the first Englishmen to use it, in The Legend of Good Women and for most of The Canterbury Tales.”
The rhyming couplet was used extensively by Tudor and Jacobean dramatists (such as Shakespeare and Marlowe) to round off a scene or an act in a play. And, in poetry too its effect is often to round-off, to make a point, to seal an argument with a flourish. The two lines can seem to snap together in the rhyme like two arms being folded across your chest at the point you know you’ve won an argument.
However, sometimes the rhyming couplet can work to leave things anything but closed or resolved.  Sometimes they function not as the click of a closing argument but to leave things open.  In these cases the lack of resolution is actually highlighted because we expect things to meet in rhyme so when they don’t it is more stark.*
Couplets with a meter of iambic pentameter are called heroic couplets. The Poetic epigram is also in the couplet form. Couplets can also appear in more complex rhyme schemes. For example, Shakespearean sonnets end with a couplet.
*Information provided by Rhyming Couplets
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

